Acctgchequebook.JPGProperty Taxes

Properties are divided into seven standard property classes established by the province. These include:

  • residential/farm
  • multi-residential
  • commercial
  • industrial
  • pipeline
  • farmlands
  • managed forests

Each tax class may have sub-classes and all may be taxed at a different rate.

Once the Counties levy requirements have been determined for the current year, tax rates are calculated for each of the property tax classes. The property tax bill is produced by the lower tier (township) and is comprised of an upper tier (Counties), lower tier (township) and education rate (provided by Ministry of Education). The sum of these tax rates is then multiplied by your assessment to determine your current year property taxes. 

For more information regarding the process go to Assessments & Taxation.

To review taxation rates by township click here.

Tax Deferral for Low Income Seniors

The Counties offers a tax deferral program for low income seniors and low income disabled persons. The By-Law and application
form provides general information on the eligibility requirements and how the tax deferral works. Eligible persons must apply annually by June 30th of each taxation year for which the deferral is requested. Interested persons can access the bylaw and application form in the Property Taxes section under Publications.